...the membership association for Information & Referral professionals, and the driving force behind clear and consistent professional Standards that benchmark every aspect of quality I&R.


AIRS Certification

Examination Dates and Locations

Applications to take an exam are due in the AIRS office 30 days prior to a test.

Please be aware that registration for your local Affiliate Conference or the AIRS Conference does not constitute registration for the AIRS Certification exam. If you are interested in taking a test, all certification exam applications, supporting documentation and appropriate exam fees must be mailed to the AIRS National Office in Fairfax, VA, and must arrive 30 days prior to the exam. DO NOT send your application for Certification with your conference registration.

If an application and payment are mailed to an address other than the AIRS National Office in Fairfax, Virginia, the application will not be processed and the applicant will be unable to sit the exam.

The contacts listed for each site can provide information such as directions to the test site, whether training or a study session will be available before the exam, and if there are additional charges from the hosting organization to cover their room costs. Canadian applicants must apply to InformCanada. These exams are not "held" by AIRS but by the hosting organization in accordance with AIRS specifications.

Additional Option: "Proctor U" Testing Option (for at home or at work) -- Providing you have a webcam and a high-speed Internet connection, the AIRS Certification exam can be taken either at home or at work. AIRS is partnering with a commercial service called ProctorU that provides online one-on-one proctoring via webcam. Essentially, you log on to the system and connect with a staff member at ProctorU who will check your photo ID, ensure that your computer has no other programs running, that your work area is clear and that during the exam, you remain in your chair and attentive only to the exam. There is a $25 charge for this service that is paid directly to ProctorU via credit card. AIRS does not receive any revenue from this service. However, this is a viable option particularly for someone wanting a re-test or facing a long journey to another testing site.

IMPORTANT: If the ProctorU option is your preference, you need to indicate that choice in the appropriate area of your Certification Application form. Once your exam application has been approved, you will receive an email with step by step instructions on how to set your appointment with ProctorU and pay the $25 fee to them as well. Do not contact ProctorU until you have received an email from AIRS letting you know your exam application has been approved.

For additional questions, or to schedule a test, contact the AIRS Headquarters at 703-218-AIRS (2477) ext 201 or certification@airs.org.

NOTE that from March 16th 2015, the CIRS-A exam is no longer be available and all candidates seeking this specialized credential must take the CIRS-Aging/Disabilties (CIRS-A/D) exam. 

  • *Please note: seating for online exams may be limited, the applications will be processed on a first come, first served basis

SEPTEMBER 1, 2015 - Tucson, AZ - 9:00 am
Ellie Towne/Flowing Wells Community Center, 1660 W Ruthrauff Rd
Pam Wessel 520-258-5077 pwessel@pcoa.org

SEPTEMBER 2, 2015 - Washington, DC - 9:30 am
Washington Hilton, 1919 Connecticut Ave NW
Nanette Relave 202-898-2578 nrelave@nasuad.org
Participants will need to bring their own laptops in order to take the exam at this location.
There will be a CIRS-A/D training held on 9/1/2015 contact Nanette for more information.

SEPTEMBER 15, 2015 - Austin, TX - 1:30 pm
HHS/211 Texas Information and Referral Network, 909 W 45th St, Bldg 5 MC 2077
Debi Leigh Smith 512-483-5118 debi.smith@hhsc.state.tx.us
There will be a $25 administrative fee, payable to TAIRS, due on exam day.

SEPTEMBER 17, 2015 - Marriotsville, MD - 8:00 am
Retreat & Conference Center at Bon Secours, 1525 Marriotsville Rd
Rainey Taylor 410-442-1320 lorraine_taylor@rccbonsecours.com
There will be an additional administrative fee, due on exam day $10 for members, $25 for non-members.

SEPTEMBER 24, 2015 - E Syracuse, NY - 10:00 am *This exam has reached full capacity, we are no longer accepting applications for this date and location
Contact Community Services, 6311 Court St Rd
Michele Anson 315-251-1400 x110 manson@contactsyracuse.org

SEPTEMBER 30, 2015 - Indianapolis, IN - 11:00 am
United Way of Central Indiana, 3901 North Meridian St
Cara Franklin 317-920-4850 cfranklin@connect2help.org

OCTOBER 8, 2015 - Los Angeles, CA - 9:15 am
The Center for Health Communities at the California Endowment, 1000 North Alameda St
Christine Reyes 626-300-1302 creyes@211la.org
There will be a $25 administrative fee, payable to CAIRS, due on exam day.

OCTOBER 8, 2015 - Los Angeles, CA - 2:00 pm
The Center for Health Communities at the California Endowment, 1000 North Alameda St
Christine Reyes 626-300-1302 creyes@211la.org
There will be a $25 administrative fee, payable to CAIRS, due on exam day.

OCTOBER 9, 2015 - Tulsa, OK - 2:00 pm
Community Service Council, 16 East 16th St
Samantha Marie Humphreys 918-465-2367 shumphreys@keddo.org
The Oklahoma AIRS Conference will take place 10/8-10/9/2015. Training will be offered at the conference. Contact. Ms. Humphreys for more info

OCTOBER 13, 2015 - Savannah, GA - 1:30 pm
Coastal Georgia Center, 305 Fahm St
Bridget Delaney 912-285-6097 jbdelaney@sgrc.us
There will be a Basic Training and CIRS-A/D Exam Preparation Intensive held on 10/11/15, 8:30-3:30 pm. Contact Bridget for more information.

OCTOBER 14, 2015 - Jackson, MI - 2:00 pm
Lifeways Community Mental Health, 1200 N West Ave
Jennifer Pollak 517-796-4548 jennifer.pollak@lifewayscmh.org

OCTOBER 21, 2015 - Whitby, ON, Canada - 1:00 pm
Central East CCAC, 920 Champlain Ct
Jill Ritchie 705-743-2212 x5795 jill.ritchie@ce.ccac-ont.ca

OCTOBER 22, 2015 - Pittsburgh, PA - 10:00 am
2100 Wharton St, 2nd Floor
Ethel Novogradac 412-350-4052 ethel.novogradac@alleghenycounty.us

OCTOBER 22, 2015 - Atlanta, GA - 10:00 am
Atlanta Regional Commission, 40 Courtland St, NE
Kimberly Perkins-Heywood 404-527-5931 kperkins-heywood@unitedwayatlanta.org

OCTOBER 22, 2015 - Atlanta, GA - 1:00 pm
Atlanta Regional Commission, 40 Courtland St, NE
Kimberly Perkins-Heywood 404-527-5931 kperkins-heywood@unitedwayatlanta.org

OCTOBER 23, 2015 - Oklahoma City, OK - 2:00 pm
Heartline 211, 3801 NW 63rd St, Bldg 1
Samantha Marie Humphreys 918-65-2367 shumphreys@keddo.org

OCTOBER 26, 2015 - Columbia, SC - 11:00 am
United Way Association of SC, 400 Arbor Lake Dr, Ste B-500
Richard LaPratt 803-608-9686 richard.lapratt@uwasc.org

OCTOBER 27, 2015 - Portland, OR - 9:00 am
Multnomah County, 501 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Rm B15
Monica Sandgren 503-988-8465 monica.sandgren@multco.us

OCTOBER 27, 2015 - Portland, OR - 1:30 pm
Multnomah County, 501 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Rm B15
Monica Sandgren 503-988-8465 monica.sandgren@multco.us

OCTOBER 28, 2015 - Baraboo, WI - 1:00 pm
University of Wisconsin-Baraboo Sauk County, 10069 Connie Rd, Rm A116
Jessica Kwapil 262-605-6657 jessica.kwapil@kenoshacounty.org

NOVEMBER 5, 2015 - Phillips, WI - 1:00 pm
North Central Technical College, Phillips Campus, 1408 Pine Ridge Rd
Kathy Billek 715-339-2158 kathy.billek@co.price.wi.us

NOVEMBER 7, 2015 - Tampa, FL - 10:00 am
Crisis Center of Tampa Bay, One Crisis Center Plaza
Hugh Ragsdale 813-964-1964 x345  hragsdale@crisiscenter.com

NOVEMBER 12, 2015 - Roanoke, VA - 9:30 am
Council of Community Services, 502 Campbell Ave SW
Laura Prevatt 540-985-0131 x213 laurap@councilofcommunityservices.org

NOVEMBER 12, 2015 - Windsor, ON, Canada - 9:00 am
ESC CCAC Windsor Branch, 5415 Tecumseh Rd East, 2nd Floor
Christina Toffolo 888-310-8881 x5244 christina.toffolo@esc.ccac-ont.ca
A CIRS Certification course will be held in October 2015, contact Christina Toffolo for more information on the course.

NOVEMBER 12, 2015 - Windsor, ON, Canada - 1:00 pm
ESC CCAC Windsor Branch, 5415 Tecumseh Rd East, 2nd Floor
Christina Toffolo 888-310-8881 x5244 christina.toffolo@esc.ccac-ont.ca
A CIRS Certification course will be held in October 2015, contact Christina Toffolo for more information on the course.

NOVEMBER 14, 2015 - Whippany, NJ - 9:00 am
NJ 2-1-1 Partnership, 114 Algonquin Pkwy
Melissa Acree 973-887-4618 macree@optonline.net

NOVEMBER 18, 2015 - Danville, IL - 9:00 am
Danville Area Community College, 2000 E Main St
Kim Serd 217-443-2999 hr@agestrong.org

NOVEMBER 18, 2015 - Whitby, ON, Canada - 1:00 pm
Central East CCAC, 920 Champlain Ct
Jill Ritchie 705-743-2212 x5795 jill.ritchie@ce.ccac-ont.ca

NOVEMBER 18, 2015 - Spokane, WA - 9:00 am
Northeast Community Center, 4001 N Cook St
Pearl Bouchard 509-458-2509 pearl.bouchard@dshs.wa.gov

NOVEMBER 20, 2015 - Aberdeen, WA - 9:45 am
Olympic Area Agency on Aging, I&A Office, 2700 Simpson, Ste 205
Janet Parris 360-316-9387 parrije@dshs.wa.gov

DECEMBER 4, 2015 - Windsor, ON, Canada - 9:00 am
ESC CCAC Windsor Branch, 5415 Tecumseh Rd East, 2nd Floor
Christina Toffolo 888-310-8881 x5244 christina.toffolo@esc.ccac-ont.ca
A CIRS Certification course will be held in October 2015, contact Christina Toffolo for more information on the course.

DECEMBER 4, 2015 - Windsor, ON, Canada - 1:00 pm
ESC CCAC Windsor Branch, 5415 Tecumseh Rd East, 2nd Floor
Christina Toffolo 888-310-8881 x5244 christina.toffolo@esc.ccac-ont.ca
A CIRS Certification course will be held in October 2015, contact Christina Toffolo for more information on the course.

DECEMBER 8, 2015 - Austin, TX - 1:30 pm
HHS/211 Texas Information and Referral Network, 909 W 45th St, Bldg 5 MC 2077
Debi Leigh Smith 512-483-5118 debi.smith@hhsc.state.tx.us
There will be a $25 administrative fee, payable to TAIRS, due on exam day.

DECEMBER 15, 2015 - Rochester, NH - 9:00 am
ServiceLink of Strafford County, 25 Old Dover Rd
Jennifer Hosue 603-516-9580 jhosue@servicelinksc.org


 
Home | Back to Top