...the membership association for Information & Referral professionals, and the driving force behind clear and consistent professional Standards that benchmark every aspect of quality I&R.


AIRS Certification

Examination Dates and Locations

Applications to take an exam are due in the AIRS office 30 days prior to a test.

Please be aware that registration for your local Affiliate Conference or the AIRS Conference does not constitute registration for the AIRS Certification exam. If you are interested in taking a test, all certification exam applications, supporting documentation and appropriate exam fees must be mailed to the AIRS National Office in Fairfax, VA, and must arrive 30 days prior to the exam. DO NOT send your application for Certification with your conference registration.

If an application and payment are mailed to an address other than the AIRS National Office in Fairfax, Virginia, the application will not be processed and the applicant will be unable to sit the exam.

The contacts listed for each site can provide information such as directions to the test site, whether training or a study session will be available before the exam, and if there are additional charges from the hosting organization to cover their room costs. Canadian applicants must apply to InformCanada. These exams are not "held" by AIRS but by the hosting organization in accordance with AIRS specifications.

Additional Option: "Proctor U" Testing Option (for at home or at work) -- Providing you have a webcam and a high-speed Internet connection, the AIRS Certification exam can be taken either at home or at work. AIRS is partnering with a commercial service called ProctorU that provides online one-on-one proctoring via webcam. Essentially, you log on to the system and connect with a staff member at ProctorU who will check your photo ID, ensure that your computer has no other programs running, that your work area is clear and that during the exam, you remain in your chair and attentive only to the exam. There is a $25 charge for this service that is paid directly to ProctorU via credit card. AIRS does not receive any revenue from this service. However, this is a viable option particularly for someone wanting a re-test or facing a long journey to another testing site. If this option is your preference, you need to indicate that choice in the appropriate area of your Certification Application form.

For additional questions, or to schedule a test, contact the AIRS Headquarters at 703-218-AIRS (2477) ext 201 or certification@airs.org.

NOTE that from March 16th 2015, the CIRS-A exam will no longer be available and all candidates seeking this specialized credential will be the CIRS-Aging/Disabilties (CIRS-A/D) exam. 

  • *Please note: seating for online exams may be limited, the applications will be processed on a first come, first served basis

NOVEMBER 8, 2014 - Whippany, NJ - 9:00 am
NJ 2-1-1 Partnership, 114 Algonquin Pkwy
Melissa Acree 973-887-4618 macree@nj211.org

NOVEMBER 13, 2014 - Phoenix, AZ - 2:00 pm
Community Information & Referral Services, 2200 N Central Ave, Ste 211
Mark Lewis 602-263-8845 mlewis@cir.org

NOVEMBER 14, 2014 - West Palm Beach, FL - 9:30 am
Your Aging & Disability Resource Center/AAA, 4400 N Congress Ave
Kim Clawson 561-214-8614 kclawson@youradrc.org

NOVEMBER 14, 2014 - Mississauga, ON Canada - 1:30 pm
Peel District Schol Board, 5650 Hurontario St
Louise Clayton 905-890-1010 x2437 louise.clayton@peelsb.com

NOVEMBER 18, 2014 - Portland, OR - 9:00 am
Multnomah County, 501 SE Hawthorn Blvd, Rm B15
Monica Sandgren 503-988-8465 monica.sandgren@multco.us

NOVEMBER 18, 2014 - Portland, OR - 1:30 pm
Multnomah County, 501 SE Hawthorn Blvd, Rm B15
Monica Sandgren 503-988-8465 monica.sandgren@multco.us

NOVEMBER 20, 2014 - Buffalo, NY - 9:00 am
Olmsted Center for Sight, 1170 Main St
Kelly Dodd 716-842-2608 kdodd@211wny.org

NOVEMBER 27, 2014 - Scarborough, ON Canada - 1:00 pm
Scarborough CECCAC Branch, 100 Consilium Place, Ste 80
Jill Ritchie 705-743-2212 jill.ritchie@ce.ccac-ont.ca

NOVEMBER 28, 2014 - Edmonton, AB Canada - 3:30 pm
The Support Network, 400, 10025 106 St
Tammy Hough 780-732-6638 though@thesupportnetwork.com

NOVEMBER 29, 2014 - Calgary, AB Canada - 9:00 am
Distress Centre Calgary, 1010 8th Ave SW, Ste 300
Jerilyn Dressler 403-266-1687 jerilynd@distresscentre.com

NOVEMBER 29, 2014 - Calgary, AB Canada - 1:00 pm
Distress Centre Calgary, 1010 8th Ave SW, Ste 300
Jerilyn Dressler 403-266-1687 jerilynd@distresscentre.com

DECEMBER 9, 2014 - Vancouver, BC Canada - 9:00 am
bc 211, 330-111 West Hastings St
Louise Ghoussoub 604-708-4061 louise@bc211.ca
There will be an ABCs of I&R review held on 11/25/14, contact Louise for more info.

DECEMBER 11, 2014 - Bloomington, MN - 9:00 am * This exam has reached its full capacity. We are no longer accepting applications for this exam date and location.
Ceridian, 3311 E Old Shakopee Rd.
Lael Tryon 651-994-2721 lael.tryon@ceridian.com

DECEMBER 12, 2014 - Yemassee, SC- 1:00 pm
Lowcountry Council of Governments, 634 Campground Rd
Karen Anderson 843-726-5536 kanderson@lowcountrycog.org

JANUARY 23, 2015 - Toledo, OH - 10:00 am
United Way of Greater Toledo, 424 Jackson St
Erin Goff 419-254-4611 erin.goff@unitedwaytoledo.org

FEBRUARY 18, 2015 - Rochester, NY- 5:30 pm * This exam has reached its full capacity. We are no longer accepting applications for this exam date and location.
Goodwill of the Finger Lakes, 546 S Clinton, Ave
Shye Lewis 585-758-1119 slouis@abvi-goodwill.com


 
Home | Back to Top