...the membership association for Information & Referral professionals, and the driving force behind clear and consistent professional Standards that benchmark every aspect of quality I&R.


AIRS Certification

Examination Dates and Locations

Applications to take an exam are due in the AIRS office 30 days prior to a test.

Please be aware that registration for your local Affiliate Conference or the AIRS Conference does NOT constitute registration for the AIRS Certification exam. If you are interested in taking a test, all certification exam applications, supporting documentation and appropriate exam fees must be mailed to the AIRS National Office in Fairfax, VA, and must arrive 30 days prior to the exam. DO NOT send your application for Certification with your conference registration. If an application and payment are mailed to an address other than the AIRS National Office in Fairfax, Virginia, the application will not be processed and the applicant will be unable to sit the exam.

The contacts listed for each site can provide information such as directions to the test site, whether training or a study session will be available before the exam, and if there are additional charges from the hosting organization to cover their room costs. Canadian applicants must apply to InformCanada. These exams are not "held" by AIRS but by the hosting organization in accordance with AIRS specifications.

Additional Option - "Proctor U" Testingfor your choice of location - at home or at work! Providing you have a webcam and a high-speed Internet connection, the AIRS Certification exam can be taken either at home or at work. AIRS is partnering with a commercial service called ProctorU that provides online one-on-one proctoring via webcam. Essentially, you log on to the system and connect with a staff member at ProctorU who will check your photo ID, ensure that your computer has no other programs running, that your work area is clear and that during the exam, you remain in your chair and attentive only to the exam. There is a $25 charge for this service that is paid directly to ProctorU via credit card. AIRS does not receive any revenue from this service. However, this is a viable option particularly for someone wanting a re-test or facing a long journey to another testing site.

IMPORTANT: If the ProctorU option is your preference, you need to indicate that choice in the appropriate area of your Certification Application form!. Once your exam application has been approved, you will receive an email with step by step instructions on how to set your appointment with ProctorU and pay the $25 fee to them as well. DO NOT contact ProctorU until you have received an email from AIRS letting you know your exam application has been approved.

For additional questions, or to schedule a test, contact the AIRS Headquarters at 703-218-AIRS (2477) ext 211 or certification@airs.org.

NOTE that from March 16th 2015, the CIRS-A exam is no longer available and all candidates seeking this specialized credential must take the CIRS-Aging/Disabilties (CIRS-A/D) exam. 

  • *Please note: seating for online exams may be limited. Applications will be processed on a first come, first served basis.

JULY 26, 2016 - Baton Rouge, LA - 1:00 pm
Capital Area United Way - 700 Laurel St.
Jan Wawrzyniak 318-998-9208 jwawrzyniak@unitedwaynela.org

JULY 26, 2016 - Honolulu, HI - 9:00 am *There is a $10 per candidate site proctor fee that is due on the day of the exam.
Honolulu Community College/PCATT Test Center - 874 Dillingham Blvd., Bldg 7 Rm 303
Philip Ana 808-586-7289 philip.ana@doh.hawaii.gov

JULY 28, 2016 - Honolulu, HI - 1:00 pm *There is a $10 per candidate site proctor fee that is due on the day of the exam.
Honolulu Community College/PCATT Test Center - 874 Dillingham Blvd., Bldg 7 Rm 303
Philip Ana 808-586-7289 philip.ana@doh.hawaii.gov

JULY 28, 2016 - Austin, TX - 1:30 pm *There is a $25 administrative fee for payable to TAIRS that is due on the day of the exam.
Health & Human Services/2-1-1 Texas I&R Network 909 W 45th St. Building 555 (MC-2077)
Debi Smith 512-589-8843 debi.smith@hhsc.state.tx.us

AUGUST 2, 2016 - San Gabriel, CA - 1:30 pm *There is a $25 administrative fee for payable to CAIRS that is due on the day of the exam.
211 LA County 526 W. Las Tunas Dr.
Laura Mejia 626-350-1841 ext. 2156 lmejia@211la.org

AUGUST 5, 2016 - Columbia, SC - 2:00 pm
United Way Association of South Carolina, 400 Arbor Lake Dr.
Richard LaPratt 803-608-9686  richard.lapratt@uwasc.org

AUGUST 18, 2016 - Milwaukee, WI - 9:30 am
Marcia Coggs Human Services Center, 1220 W. Vilet St.
Steven Peterson 414-289-5797  steven.peterson@milwaukeecountywi.gov

AUGUST 18, 2016 - Dallas, TX - 9:30 am *There is a $25 administrative fee for payable to TAIRS that is due on the day of the exam. Examinees must bring their own laptop.
Community Council of Greater Dallas, 1341 W. Mockingbird LN, Suite 1000 W
Dianne Armon 214-871-5065 ext. 246 darmon@ccgd.org

AUGUST 24, 2016 - Butler, PA - 9:00 am
Center for Community Resources, 212-214 S. Main St.
Beth Gillan 724-431-3615 bgillan@ccrinfo.org

AUGUST 25, 2016 - Indianapolis, IN - 1:00 pm
Connect2Help211, 3901 N. Meridian St. Suite 300
Cara Franklin 317-920-4850 ext 396 cfranklin@connect2help.org

AUGUST 31, 2016 - Washington, DC - 9:30 am *There is a certification for I&R specialists in aging & disabilities (CIRS-A/D) exam preparation training course on August 30th from 10:15 am - 5:00 pm.
MicroTek Washington D.C., 1110 Vermont Avenue NW, Suite 700
Nanette Relave 202-898-2578 ext. 305 nrelave@nasuad.org

SEPTEMBER 2, 2016 - San Gabriel, CA - 1:30 pm *There is a $25 administrative fee for payable to CAIRS that is due on the day of the exam.
211 LA County 526 W. Las Tunas Dr.
Laura Mejia 626-350-1841 ext. 2156 lmejia@211la.org

SEPTEMBER 13, 2016 - Pittsburgh, PA - 10:00 am
Allegheny County/DHS/Area Agency on Aging - 2100 Wharton St., Second floor
Ethel Novogradac 412-350-4052 ethel.novogradac@alleghenycounty.us

SEPTEMBER 16, 2016 - Aberdeen, WA - 9:00 am
2700 Simpson Ave., Suite 205
Janet Parris 360-316-9387 parrije@dshs.wa.gov

OCTOBER 5, 2016 - Gulfport, MS - 1:00 pm
WIN Job Center - 10162 Southpark Dr.
Cynthia Perkins 662-845-6140 cperkins@ncpdd.org

OCTOBER 6, 2016 - Sacramento, CA - 9:30 am and 1:30 pm *There is a $25 administrative fee for payable to CAIRS that is due on the day of the exam.
Sierra Health Foundation 1321 Garden Highway
Maribel Marin 626-350-1841 ext 2100  mmarin@211la.org

OCTOBER 12, 2016 - Baraboo, WI - 1:00 pm
UW Baraboo/Sauk County A-116, 1006 Connie Rd.
Luann Teige 715-394-3611 luann@seniorconnectionswi.org

OCTOBER 12, 2016 - Mt. Pleasant, MI - 2:15 pm
Comfort Inn & Conference Center 2424 S. Mission St.
Jennie Pollak 517-796-4548 jennifer.pollak@lifewayscmh.org

OCTOBER 13, 2016 - Lubbock, TX - 2:00 pm * If attending the TAIRS conference, there is no charge.  If testing only, there is a $25 administrative fee for payable to TAIRS that is due on the day of the exam.
TAIRS Conference - Overton Hotel 2322 Mac Davis Ln.
Jacqueline Elmore 806-322-2627  jacquelineelmore@calfarley.org

OCTOBER 14, 2016 - Columbia, SC - 2:00 pm
United Way Association of South Carolina, 400 Arbor Lake Dr.
Richard LaPratt 803-608-9686  richard.lapratt@uwasc.org

OCTOBER 20, 2016 - Atlanta, GA - 10:00 am and 1:00 pm
Atlanta Regional Comission, 40 Courtland St. - Computer Lab/Level C
Kimberly Perkins-Heywood 404-527-5931 kperkins-heywood@unitedwayatlanta.org

OCTOBER 27, 2016 - St. Louis, MO- 10:00 am
United Way of Greater St. Louis - 910 N 11th St.
Robin Pokojski 314-242-1884 robin.pokojski@stl.unitedway.org

OCTOBER 27, 2016 - Harrisburg, PA - 1:00 pm
CONTACT Helpline - 900 S. Arlington Ave.
Kelly Gollick 717-652-4987 kgollick@contacthelpline.org

NOVEMBER 10, 2016 - Austin, TX - 1:30 pm *There is a $25 administrative fee for payable to TAIRS that is due on the day of the exam.
Health & Human Services/2-1-1 Texas I&R Network 909 W 45th St. Building 555 (MC-2077)
Debi Smith 512-589-8843 debi.smith@hhsc.state.tx.us

DECEMBER 9, 2016 - Columbia, SC - 2:00 pm
United Way Association of South Carolina, 400 Arbor Lake Dr.
Richard LaPratt 803-608-9686  richard.lapratt@uwasc.org

 


 
Home | Back to Top